Set up a Business subscription

Team Role

  • Admin

Once you’ve created your team, you can upgrade it to Business to unlock increased limits and additional features.

Supported payment methods

To pay for a Todoist Business subscription, use any of the supported payment cards

  • American Express
  • China UnionPay (CUP)
  • Discover & Diners Club
  • eftpos Australia
  • Japan Credit Bureau (JCB)
  • Mastercard
  • Visa

Purchase orders aren't supported at the moment.

Upgrade a team to Business

Warning

If you’re using Todoist for iOS or Todoist for Android, switch to Todoist in a web browser to upgrade or downgrade a team.

When you upgrade a team to the Business plan, each team member will automatically have access to Pro features in their personal projects. Here's how to upgrade a team:

  1. Log in to the Todoist account at https://todoist.com.
  2. Open team settings.
  3. Find the team to upgrade in the left-hand sidebar.
  4. Click Billing.
  5. Click Upgrade.

Receipts aren't automatically sent to the team admin when the payment is successful. Access receipts at any time through the team billing settings.

Add team members

Your team will be billed based on the number of users in the billing cycle, and all users will be billed on a single invoice.

Team admins can manage team billing, and add members to the team between billing cycles. Here’s how this will be handled in the invoice:

Monthly billing

If you’re on monthly billing, and you’re adding new members to your team in the middle of the cycle, your next monthly invoice will include their subscription for the month ahead and the charges based on the time they belonged to the team during the previous month.

Here’s an example:

Your monthly subscription starts on January 1, 2024. You’ve added Caroline to your team on January 14th. 

On February 1st, you’ll be charged for the month ahead for you and Caroline, and for Caroline’s time on the team from January 14th until January 31st.

Yearly billing

If you’re on yearly billing, and you’re adding new members to your team in the middle of the cycle, you’ll receive an invoice during the following month based on your original purchase date. Your invoice will include the amount due for each new member for the remainder of their yearly subscription, as well as charges based on the amount of time they belonged to the team during the previous yearly billing period.

Here’s an example:

Your yearly subscription started on January 1, 2024. You’ve added Diane to your team on February 20th. 

On March 1st, you’ll be charged for Diane’s subscription from February 20th until January 1st of the following year.

Remove team members

Team admins can only manage team billing, and remove members from the team between billing cycles. Here’s how this will be handled in the invoice:

If you remove one of your team members, you’ll only be charged for the time they belonged to the team. The equivalent of the time the removed member was no longer part of the team will be credited back to you and will be immediately deducted from the amount due on your next monthly or yearly invoice.

Quick tip

If you’re a team admin and want more information on managing your team’s plan and billing, check out this handy article.

FAQ

If you have paid for Pro and upgrade to Business before using your full Pro time, your remaining Pro time will be added as credit in our system. However, please note that this credit can only be used to pay for Pro subscriptions.

If you upgrade to Business within 30 days of having subscribed to Pro, you may be eligible for a full refund. Learn more in this article.

While you can create a single-person team and upgrade to Business, we believe solo users will get the best value from a Pro subscription. Check out the difference between our subscriptions on our Pricing page.